New Old Things, or, This Blog’s First Braindump

Took a nice, long bath in the rain last week. And by that, I mean lying down on the tiles in the garden, eyes closed, rain pouring on your face. It’s a funny feeling, that of seemingly melting with the water, down into the porcelain, an unbearable yet irresistible liquidity to it all. Makes you wonder if the person who first visualized spiritual evolution as a liquid merging of separate human consciousnesses into one blob of a whole was lying down in the rain when the idea came to him.

***

Struggling to finish the last few pages of What Video Games Have to Teach Us About Learning and Literacy, some book I picked up at the school library and got hooked on. Good stuff, academics; it helps to stuff your brain silly every once in a while. And what better way to do so than to give yourself a crash course-slash-refresher on semiotics, contextualized into Pikmin and the Tomb Raider series of games, among other things?

Now to see if I can get my head back into Bettelheim’s The Uses of Enchantment again, as it was the book I picked up before I came across the former. Folktale and mythological analysis is always a fun read, especially when you doubt the extent of what your own God/s can accomplish, and how admirable He/They become/s in the process.

Funny that the intellectual stuff is appealing to me nowadays in ways I could not have imagined possible. That, or The God of Small Things is really that boring in some chapters (even Orangedrink Lemondrink Man only goes so far as shock value in my opinion, I have to confess). I promise myself that I will go settle down with a nice, “fast” Gaiman or Murakami book once I’m done with Ma’am Arundhati Roy.

***

Speaking of video games, New Old Thing: Homeworld I. Clunky graphics, fine (reminds me too much of the Descent series of games), but one heck of a game system. Because rudimentary 3D world is win. Or maybe I’m simply trying to compensate for the fact that my laptop’s specs are crap for today’s games, which sucks when you realize that the brouhaha over most of the RTS (my favorite genre, might I say) stuff out these days is the creation of rich, vast environments which interact with the characters in as many creative ways as possible, which requires intense video and graphics tech (Pixel Shader anyone?) in order to pull off.

I admit, I have been tempted multiple times to splurge on a gaming rig. But then, I remember some old gem like Homeworld, Starcraft, Guilty Gear, Red Alert II, Raptor or Diablo II, and I’m back to being a gaming geezer of sorts.

Wonder if I’ll ever be stoned enough to download something along the lines of Populous, though.

Also, Dota II.

***

I feel like I am bound for a deeper-than-usual bout of sadness soon. All the tell-tale signs are there: thoughts so heavy that they interfere with your effectiveness as a contributing member of this capitalistic society that nevertheless requires people to reap only what they sow (i.e. can’t work), long afternoons and nights being wasted on procrastinated distractions (i.e. this blog entry) and a general feeling of consistently being too burned out to go to work at least two days every week (i.e. laziness). Oh well, at least it makes for a few nice and cathartic works every now and then.

And the weather doesn’t help at all. Just ask any old Russian novelist.

3 thoughts on “New Old Things, or, This Blog’s First Braindump

  1. I think it’s the weather plus the time of the year, you know, august, when film companies have just released all the spectacular summer movies and theyre getting ready for the -ber months so whats left in cinema houses are movies they mustve stopped working on last year and have no better use. lazy month.

Leave a Reply

